2013 Detektor International Award winners announced

Stockholm, Sweden

The winners: Spencer Marshall from HID, Erik Lindstein from Embsec and Björn Admeus from Sony. (Photo: Henrik Paulsson)

The Detektor International Award ceremony was held at the Security banquet during the security show Sectech in Stockholm yesterday. The Best Product winners were HID, Sony and Embsec.
The Detektor International Award ceremony was held in Stockholm yesterday. The twelve products awarded as finalists were chosen on the basis of both innovation and customer orientation. Sony won the Best CCTV product award, HID won the award for the Best Access control product and Embsec won the award for the Best alarm and detection product.

The Detektor International Award was introduced in 2000 to reward manufacturers of products and services that stand up to the criteria of outstanding innovation and contribution to the advancement of the security industry. The Detektor International Award is an independent prize and as such companies cannot nominate their own products. Instead, the nomination is conducted by the editorial board of Detektor. This selection criteria is the main reason why it has become one of the most prestigious awards in the global security market.

The jury consists of nine members from three continents: Europe, Asia and America. The criteria for a product to be nominated for a Detektor International Award encompasses not only the technical solution but also the packaging and over all presentation of the product, which actually could equally as well be a service. The three product categories for the awards are Access Control, Alarm and Detection, and CCTV. The overall winner in each category received the award for “Best Product”, the second received the “Highly Commended Award” and third place winners were presented with the “Innovative Achievement Award”.

The Access Control category
The "Best Product Award" in the Access Control category went to HID from the USA for its iCLASS Seos NFC – a multi-application credential for NFC smartphones and other mobile devices. ”Once again HID demonstrates steadfast determination to be the driving force for innovation in the access control field”, declared the panel of judges as the motivation for selecting HID as the overall winner in the Access Control category.

The "Highly Commended Product Award" was awarded to Genetec Synergis Master Controller – an intelligent IP controller edge device

The "Innovative Achievement Award" in the Access Control category this year was shared by Salto Systems for Clay and Nedap for uPASS Access.

The Alarm & Detection category
The "Best Product Award" in the Alarm and Detection category went to Embsec for vFence F-501 – a PoE laser perimeter control unit. The motivation of Detektor International’s panel of judges was: “ For providing a perfect combination of usability, simplicity and efficiency in one stunning package”.

The "Highly Commended Product Award" in the Alarm and Detection category was given to Navtech Radar for AdvanceGuard AGS1600 – a radar based detection and tracking system.

The Alarm and Detection "Innovative Achievement Award" was shared by CSL DualCom for DualCom Calibre and Dualtech IT for Easy Web Manager.

The CCTV category
The "Best Product Award" in the CCTV category went to Sony from Japan for SNC-WR632 – an outdoor 360° PTZ dome camera. This choice, by Detektor International's panel of judges, was explained by the following motivation: “Sony persists in demonstrating its commitment to delivering intelligent security cameras with stunning picture quality in any weather conditions”.

The "Highly Commended Product Award" in the CCTV category was given to Pelco by Schneider Electric for Sarix TI – an IP and analogue thermal imaging security camera.

The "Innovative Achievement Award" of the CCTV category was shared by Axis Communications for Axis P5414-E and Bosch Security Systems for Starlight.

Product Suppliers
Back to top